number third.

Posted in Top Ten Recordings of 2008 by corytylerbowles on December 26, 2008

number three _part B

61katedb-vl_ss500_

Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

The LP I long anticipated, since I had gotten absolutely obsessed with the EP released in February, and it thoroughly lived up to the expectations that had been built up in my head. This record was just an expansion of their beautiful meshing of bluegrass, a bit of folk, and a dash of baroque pop, with the overwhelmingly timbre of their harmonies, this group went to lengths never even imagined in what we call modern music. This group has accomplished something that is so rare in music today, having both instrumental talent and songwriting talent, there’s no way this band will disappoint anytime soon.

Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal

number 3 PartA
61-tspv21tl_ss500_1

Fleet Foxes – Sun Giant

Refer to my Last.Fm, I listened to this album 175 times this year, and I can tell you with great confidence that it was in short period of time and doesn’t even account for the number of times I listened to this in my car/stereo/ipod. This is the record that sold me on Fleet Foxes, and helped me rediscover a lot of things I had been missing from music for such a long time. This group did so much more with the music they created, they didn’t just play off of one genre and dwell on it, they pulled a wide array of influences and created something completely refined and refreshing. This simple 5 song EP, far supassed about 90 percent of the LP’s I own, in creation, talent, and dedication, this group will stand out as a new generations folk music for a long time to come. Sun Giant is pure artistic evolution. Fleet Foxes will remain something warm and fuzzy in my heart for a long time to come, from the tranquil summer night in Chicago I discovered just how beautiful their music was, it will remain as one of the most engaging experiences of my life.

Fleet Foxes – English House

dsc_01371

Vodpod videos no longer available.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamacdonald said, on December 28, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Nice photo at the bottom of this post.


Leave a Reply

