Album of 2008

Posted in Top Ten Recordings of 2008 by corytylerbowles on December 26, 2008

NUMBER 1

I’ve always felt somewhat reserved, and have never really been able to fully express my feelings or thoughts through voice, expression, or motion. I don’t think there’s really ever been anything that has pushed me to express myself fully. Until this summer past summer, I don’t think I’ve ever been moved to dance as long as I can remember. It was Sunday night at the Pitchfork Festival, the final night, around 9:45pm, about 30 minutes after Cut/Copy was set to take the stage. We approached the stage during the final moments of Bon Iver’s set, and started pushing our way through to the very front of the stage, leaving us in the perfect place to witness the band I had been listening nonstop for four months. As it got closer and closer to the time of show, the tight space I had squeezed into managed to get even tighter, however I was dead-set on seeing this group perform. As 9:20 approached, I began to grow skeptical/nervous/uneased. Low and behold, it is announced that Cut/Copy’s flight has been delayed in San Francisco, and it looks as if they will not be making it. Immediately, my heart sunk, and I began to grow quite disappointed, ending a festival that had been amazing with such a large letdown. In the meantime, Bradford Cox, King Khan, Nathan Jerde, and of course Jay Reatard, decide to take the stage and do an impromptu set. It was quite interesting what developed in the time they were on stage. Between witnessing Jay Reatard piss off King Khan by ruining his songs or watching him stick a bouquet of flowers up his ass, I began to come around and start to feel better about the situation, and just accept that I will not be seeing Cut/Copy. Around 9:35, Bradford Cox announced that Cut/Copy will come on in 5 minutes, and I felt my heart stop. The band came on to the stage to the remainder of the crowd that had waited around for the possibility that they might play after all, the energy was extremely high as everybody had been anticipating this unlikely moment. The music started and the crowd went crazy. For the first time in my life, I was actually fucking dancing, and I don’t mean shaking back and forth. Jumping up and waving my arms to the point that I can’t breathe, I am running on nothing but testosterone, and sure it looked retarded(imagine somebody having an epileptic fit or -==-). It’s pure bliss, and I’m dancing in pool of my sweat, as well as 500 other peoples sweat, and maybe a dab of blood. It was probably the most liberating musical experience I have ever witnessed in my life and stands out as one of the most memorable performances ever.

51x4eiavjul_ss500_

Cut/Copy – In Ghost Colours

If you know me at all and are reading this, I know that nobody is surprised at all by this, because you’ve probably listened to this record at least 5 times just being in my presence. Anyway, this record is dear to me, and I know that I have listened to this record more than any other, and every time I listen to this record my gastrointestinal lining explodes. I’ve had so many revelations as a result of this record, I just can’t imagine what the last year would have been like without this album. Cut/Copy has somehow managed to create and texturize a dance record, that not only a narcissistic asshole dance, but also created an impression. This record is album of the year because it is a representation of what music is to me, and what I hope it will remain to be to me. 2008 = music

Cut/Copy – Nobody Lost, Nobody Found

maincc

cut-copy1

Vodpod videos no longer available.

That was just a dream.

godspeed 2009.

coke and tang, here i come.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. evan said, on December 26, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    muy bueno. i’m a little surprised the mag fields didn’t show up on this list.

  2. jamacdonald said, on December 28, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Very nice selection, my choice exactly.

  3. cobo102 said, on December 29, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Very glad you agree.


Leave a Reply

