TOP TEN ALBUMS OF 2008

Posted in Top Ten Recordings of 2008 by corytylerbowles on December 3, 2008

And now I will begin my annual tradition of countdown bullshit. Except this year I will refrain from being an arrogant dickhead, and only do ten as opposed to twenty-five. So, uh… here it is.

NO. Ten

krs486

Marnie Stern – This Is It and I Am It and You Are It and So Is That and He Is It and She Is It and It Is It and That Is That

This album hit me with a ton a bricks from the start. Never hearing Marnie Stern before, I expected something completely different. But no, explicit hard-rocking with a dash what seemed riot-grrl, completely flipped my expectations, and I was set. Sporadic Zach Hill drumming in god knows what time signature, in songs completely composed by finger tapping, how could I not get a boner from this record. There’s also something endearing and innocent about Marnie Sterns, that in turn makes the music even more rebellious/defiant. Something I think only a male like myself really understands.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

If you would like to check out 11 through 25 hit the link:

eleven through twenty-five 2008 recordings


Leave a Reply

